About Scullin


Since its establishment in 1955, the seat of Scullin has had only four members, all from the Australian Labor Party, including two Speakers of the House of Representatives. Harry Jenkins was Speaker during the Rudd-Gillard Labor Government and Dr Harry Jenkins served as Speaker during the Hawke Labor Government.

The electorate is named after Rt Hon James Scullin, Prime Minister of Australia from 1929 to 1932.

Scullin includes the outer-metropolitan suburbs of Diamond Creek, Epping, Lalor, Mill Park, Plenty, Watsonia North, Wattle Glen, Yarrambat, Hurstbridge, Thomastown, Wollert and parts of Bundoora, Greensborough and South Morang.

Located in the north-east of Melbourne, Scullin has an active and vibrant multicultural community.

Scullin has the industries of manufacturing, light industrial, food processing, packaging and distribution, health and education.

Former and current member for Scullin:

ted_peters.jpg         Dr_Harry_Jenkins.jpg         Jenkins_H_for-web.jpg         Giles-headshot-image.jpg                

  Ted Peters              Dr Harry Jenkins           Harry Jenkins                     Andrew Giles

  (1955-1969)              (1969-1986)               (1986-2013)                        (2013 - )


It is also home to the State seats of:

Mill Park - Lily D'Ambrosio MP

Bundoora - Colin Brooks MP

Yan Yean - Danielle Green MP

Thomastown - Bronwyn Halfpenny MP

Eltham - Steve Herbert MP